Piece 28-Confidence

We have been trading out the possessions of the world for eternal treasures in Christ. Whereas Judas Iscariot took a sack of thirty silver pieces, we have discovered spiritual rewards that not only assist us in our daily living but also sanctify us for the life to come. The next piece we pull from the Lord’s gift bag is titled CONFIDENCE. This precious blessing aligns our hearts with truths such as 2 Chronicles 32:8 which says the Lord helps us and fights our battles and Psalm 71:5 that says “For you have been my hope, Sovereign Lord, my confidence since my youth.” Merriam-Webster defines confidence as the quality or state of being certain.

“Blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.” (Jeremiah 17:7) The only things we should be certain of, are the words and promises of Jesus Christ. In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence. (Ephesians 3:12) If we put our certainty in Jesus, we are truly free to go before Almighty God with our worship and prayers. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. (Hebrews 4:16) Mercy and grace come from above. Nothing in this world can give us these precious blessings.

Be certain that Jesus doesn’t want you to be afraid and that he is always there with you to help! So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” (Hebrews 13:6)

Be certain that God loves you like a father loves his children and that he listens to you! This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. (1 John 5:14) 

Be certain that God has a great plan for you, a long-term plan that is good! Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (Philippians 1:6)

Be certain that you have a special part to play in the sharing of the gospel message to the world! And because of my chains, most of the brothers and sisters have become confident in the Lord and dare all the more to proclaim the gospel without fear. (Philippians 1:14)

Be certain of the hope that this confidence gives you that one day you will see Jesus: And now, dear children, continue in him, so that when he appears we may be confident and unashamed before him at his coming. (1 John 2:28)

Jesus taught about his gift of true confidence in his parable recorded in Luke 18: “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’ “But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’ “I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” 

I want to be a tax collector. But, if I were honest, most of my time is spent walking around like a Pharisee. Sure, I don’t tell God I’m happy I’m not like a robber or adulterer, but my daily living tells a different story. Too many times, my confidence is in the things I can see, rather than in the heart of the One who died for me.

How about you? Where are putting your confidence? Where does your certainty lie? Be  confident that Jesus is who He says He is and that He loves you. Confidence in Him is a gift that always satisfies.

Leave a Reply

