Piece 24-His Word

Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away. -Matthew 24:35

This life contains many false promises. Fine print. Interest charges. With Jesus, all of those go out the window because He is “the way and the truth and the life.” (John 14:6) When Jesus gives us his word, we can be confident that He will do everything He says. Jesus is the Word made flesh. The truth of His word, the Bible, reminds us that He is the light that shines in our darkness and that darkness cannot overcome it. The disappointments we share do not smother us. The heartaches we feel do not overwhelm us. Jesus gives us words that heal and encourage. His word never fails.

John 3:33 says that God is truthful. Jesus gives us His word that in Him we have true life (John 10:10) and nothing can “snatch” us out of His hands. (v.28) We are safe from the lies and misfortunes that try to take our attention away from Jesus, because He holds onto us and never lets go. Not only are we protected, we are empowered. Remember, we are saved to serve. While we are safe in our Savior’s hands, let’s recall the words of Psalm 115: “may the Lord cause you to flourish.” As we go through today, boldly telling people about Jesus, may we gain encouragement from His words: “I tell you, whoever publicly acknowledges me before others, the Son of Man will also acknowledge before the angels of God.” (Luke 12:8) Jesus tells the angles your name!

Another important truth that Jesus gives us is recorded in John 12: “Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.  Anyone who loves their life will lose it, while anyone who hates their life in this world will keep it for eternal life.  Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.” Our Lord’s word creates a beautiful symphony of love and praise between heaven and earth. First, Jesus speaks to his angels and they hear our names and God honors us as we serve the Lord.

After Jesus washed his disciples’ feet he said, “Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.” Jesus, our master, gives us his word, that if we serve like He served, we will be blessed. We aren’t left to wonder how it is we go about this service. We didn’t receive a secret calling. As we head into this day, we do the works Jesus did. We walk in Him as we go because he is our Light that guides us through this dark life. “Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.  And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. (John 14:12-14)

The Lord’s word is our only truth and it lasts forever. Jesus won’t go back on it or ever change His mind. He loves us too much. He gave His life to save us. Is He your Savior? He has great things planned for you!

Leave a Reply

