Piece 17- Narrow Gate

I came up with the term Broad Road Masquerade to describe life without God. Our next gift that Jesus has ready for us is the NARROW GATE. He says in the seventh chapter of Matthew’s gospel, “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” When we are with Jesus, He leads us away from life’s masquerade to life everlasting.

This gift of the Narrow Gate is crucial. I believe there are two important aspects to this gift. First, JESUS is the Narrow Gate and through Him alone we are saved. Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” For the believer who is walking in the light, there is a second blessing to this gift. After Jesus saves us, we need to walk through the gate into the life that He has waiting for us: “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

How does this translate into daily living? How does the life-changing gift of the Narrow Gate help us stay in the Lord’s will?

I’m so excited to share a lesson God is teaching me how this “not judging” relates to our new gift of the Narrow Gate. If we rewind a bit, we see that Jesus was talking about not judging others. By God’s grace, I finally figured out that Jesus here is also telling me, “Do not judge God!”

Here’s a personal note that I pray will help you out today, wherever you are and whatever your job. My wife and I love Ethiopia. We adopted our youngest son from Addis Ababa three years ago and we’ve been able to return there the past two summers for short-term mission trips. When we are there, I see God like I’ve never seen him before. Over here in Texas, I am a public school teacher. I know that the classroom is a mission field, but if I may be honest, I want to be on the African mission field instead. But I see how this is judging God, because for now the Narrow Gate that He has led me through opens up onto a classroom full of wonderful children.

His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. (2 Peter 1:3) The Lord’s gift of the Narrow Gate helps open my eyes to His calling for my life. Thank goodness! Remember how we started this post? The Broad Road Masquerade isn’t limited to worldly pleasures of the material kind. The masquerade also deals with selfish pursuits. I’m on the Broad Road and haven’t fully received the Narrow Gate gift if I’m telling God where it is I should be serving Him.

The next thing Jesus tells us just before mentioning the Narrow Gate gift is the awesome Ask, Seek, Knock message. Friends, the door that we’re told to knock on isn’t a garage door. And it most definitely isn’t a barn door. This is a narrow “front door” and Jesus is the only One waiting to open it for us! Amen.

Praise God for the Narrow Gate. Wherever He has us today is right where we need to be. Someone walking the other way needs Jesus. They need to know where the Narrow Gate is. Take them there and rejoice with the angels. Remember, don’t be afraid because God is with us and has given us His power to accomplish His will.

Leave a Reply

