Piece 10-Trust

Jesus offers his children so many wonderful gifts. In our journey to unwrap thirty of these life-changing rewards, we have received things such as true love, eternal life, rest, and mercy. This next gift that pull from the Lord’s gift bag is inscribed with the word TRUST. Jesus loves you. He offers you eternal life. He gives you rest. And with this next heavenly treasure, His is our trustworthy savior. He is our best friend who will never lie to us. Ever. All throughout the gospels accounts Jesus said, “I tell you the truth…” before making impactful statments that altered the listeners lives forever.

We can trust Jesus. Period. He doesn’t lie. Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6) In our world of advertising and Hollywood, image is king. In our hearts, Jesus is King. He died so that we may live. He proved on the cross, as He took all of our sins to the grave, that if we believe what He says and live life accordingly, Jesus will guide our paths. Our entire life journey is through Him, so we can trust Him that what today brings is all part of His trustworthy plan for our lives.

I believe the enemy uses our materialistic culture to insulate us from this gift of trusting Jesus. With all of my worldly possessions, I still worry. I also believe that when I worry it is the same as me telling God, “You know Lord, I know you created the universe, but this financial debt pit I’m in…I have to worry about it. The bills are piling up and the cash isn’t.” Maybe your ‘worry’ issue isn’t debt. Maybe its a family deal. Or a work thing. Whatever ‘it’ is, you worry but no clear change happens with the situation. Here is my typical worry cycle: a stressful event…I worry…stressful event…I pray…I worry and pray…I pray and worry. Praise the Lord that He has a way out of this.

For the solution, we have to turn to the end of Luke chapter 10 where we find the familiar story of Martha and Mary. Even though you know what happens, please read on. Two siblings, Martha and Mary, were blessed to have Jesus over to their house for a visit. How awesome would that be? Quick background: Martha was the distracted sister who tended to the dinner preparations while Mary sat at our Lord’s feet and listened to what he said. I love the truthfulness of Scripture. God’s word contains real-life, stressful situations so we can relate to it. Martha tried telling Jesus what to do: “She came to him and asked, ‘Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work myself? Tell her to help me!” Wow, Martha was one gutsy lady. She hadn’t trusted Jesus…yet. The Lord replied, “Martha, Martha you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better and it will not be taken away from her.”

Mary chose to take her life and set it at the Lord’s feet. She went to his presence and turned her eyes to be able to see his face. And, best of all, she listened to what he had to say. Jesus said that it is better to listen to his words than worry about life’s problems. He wants us to trust that his words and instructions are always better that anything this life might lead us to believe.

Trust. It’s a gift the Lord gives that keeps us by his side. And, by his side is the best place to be!

Leave a Reply

