Plan A

Nevertheless, each one should retain the place in life that the Lord assigned to him and to which God has called him.  -1 Corinthians 7:17

My area pastor stopped me and asked how my job was going. My response was genuine: “I wish we were in Africa on the mission field.” His reply hit home: “Matt, today is not God’s Plan B.” A couple days ago, I came across 1 Corinthians 7:17 and reflected on its powerful truth. God has called me to today’s job which includes being a school teacher, husband, and father…and a disciple of Jesus Christ!

Psalm 16 reinforces this: Lord, you have assigned me my portion and cup. You have made my lot secure. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places. Surely I have a delightful inheritance. Our inheritance is secure, but our neighbors or coworkers who don’t know Jesus are in desperate need of the gospel. The Lord has opened every door for us to be right where we are…right now. Think about a neighbor or a family member who needs to hear the Good News. That person is part of God’s Plan A for your life.

There are no mistakes in God’s Plan A. I’m sure Joseph must have questioned God’s Plan when his brothers plotted to take his life and sold him into slavery. If not then, surely, when he was thrown in prison for two years for a crime he didn’t commit. But, through it all, God was with Joseph and showed him favor and kindness. Fast forward to the end of Genesis, where the confusing, unfair circumstances of Joseph’s past are explained as necessary for God’s Plan A. Years had passed and Joseph’s family had gone to Egypt to find food. His brothers threw themselves at Joseph’s feet and asked for mercy. Joseph replied, “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”

What is God’s Plan A for your life? If you’re questioning God about His will for your life, pause and think about your daily routine. He has you right where He wants you to carry out His perfect plans. People are so important to God. Your heart is His masterpiece that He’s using to show people a glimpse into the perfect loving heart of His Son.

Remember, there is no Plan B.

One thought on “Plan A

  1. Matt,
    Thanks so much for another one of your thought-provoking, just at the right time posts 🙂 I find myself straining ahead, thinking that what the future holds will undoubtedly be “what God wants for me,” when I’m right where He wants me to be TODAY. That gives me plenty to think about!
    Blessings,
    Deb

Leave a Reply

