Hear My Cry

God heard the boy crying, and the angel of God called to Hagar from heaven and said to her, “What is the matter, Hagar? Do not be afraid; God has heard the boy crying as he lies there.” Genesis 21:17

Some days feel long and never ending. The hours seem to taunt us. We are tempted to believe that God is way up there behind the clouds. Our thinking might go something like this: I’ve read all the verses. I’ve sung all the songs. All the presets on my car radio are Christian stations. Every Sunday I’m there in church worshipping and taking good sermon notes. I pray when I wake up and at bedtime. I’m a devout believer. BUT…I don’t understand who I’m supposed to be. I go to work and do my job, but it all seems pointless. Where are you God?

In the book of Genesis, we have an awesome account of how God personally responds to our prayers. It shows how God watches out for us and helps us even when we can’t come up with the right words to plead our case. He knows what we need. Hagar was with her boy Ishmael wandering through the desert of Beersheba with only food and some water to split between her and the child. Eventually, the water ran out and the mother was left with no option but to accept that her son was going to die. So Hagar took Ishmael and put him under a tamarisk tree that provided shade. Like any mother would do, she started to cry knowing that her son would soon perish. Verse seventeen is such an awesome verse: God heard the boy crying, and the angel of God called to Hagar from heaven and said, “Do not be afraid; God has heard the boy crying as he lies there.”

What a comfort to know God is personally involved in our days, listening and watching our seconds, minutes, and hours. Just as Hagar cared for her son, God showers his children in Fatherly love–a blessing rain of compassion that washes away our fear.

Leave a Reply

