Defend 1.0

I have to admit I’m good at listening. God speaks. I listen. It’s the doing that gets me every time. There’s a beautiful truth in the gospel of John that helped me and I pray will help you move forward in faith to do what God is calling you to do.

There was a man whose son was dying. The man sought out Jesus and begged him to come and heal his son. The royal official said to Jesus, “Sir, come down before my child dies.” I love the fact that the official knew Jesus, and only Jesus, was the answer. “Go,” Jesus replied, “your son will live.” Now, if I’m the father, I’d be begging the Lord to hop on my horse and we’d do light speed back to Capernaum. But look at the man’s faith. He took Jesus at his word and departed. He was a believer who was good at doing what the Lord commands.

What about the children in this world who don’t have a father that will take care of them and bring all their needs to Jesus? Even after surrendering my life to the Lord, I never thought about just how much God loves the fatherless. Proof of that love runs throughout Scripture, but somehow my heart hadn’t gotten the message. I knew that being a child of God was a series of relationships: me and God, me and my wife, me and my family, me and my friends. But what I failed to realize is that being a Christian means I must have a relationship with widows and orphans too. God doesn’t want us to write a check. At least not up front. First, He wants to rewrite our lives. Rewrite our doing. Rewrite the desires of our hearts. Then we will be able to defend the fatherless!

What a wonderful day on earth and in heaven when the last orphan finds her forever family! This is a possibility and I believe that we can be the generation that sees that glorious day. But it won’t come easy. Nothing good and meaningful ever does. We have to dive into the Bible, see what it says about where God’s heart is on the issue of adoption and then live out a life that truly worships our Father.

Real religion isn’t just about praising God on Sunday mornings. Real worship service in God’s church is also praising him by taking care of his orphans and widows in their time of need. After all, that’s exactly what He did for you and me.

One thought on “Defend 1.0

Leave a Reply

